02-579-1068      tecthailand1@gmail.com      TEC      Youtube      twitter      Instagram

 Taiwan Information  

Official Name: Republic of China (Taiwan)
National Flower: Plum blossom
Area (Taiwan and outlying islands): 36,197 square kilometers
Population:  23.59 million (2018)
Ethnicity: Over 95 percent Han Chinese (including Holo,   Hakka and other groups that originated in China).  2 percent indigenous Malayo – Polynesian peoples, 2 percent immigrants, primarily from China and Southeast Asia.
Government: Multiparty democracy
President: Tsai Ing-wen
Capital: Taipei city
Special municipality: Taipei, New Taipei, Taoyuan, Taichung, Tainan,   Kaohsiung cities
National currency: New Taiwan Dollar (NT$ or TWD)
Language: Mandarin (Chinese), Holo (Taiwanese), Hakka,  Austronesian languages
Major religions: Buddhism, Taoism, I-Kuan Tao, Chinese folk  religions, Christianity, Islam
National Taiwan: The Republic of China (Taiwan) is situated in the West Pacific between Japan and the Philippines. Its jurisdiction extends to the archipelagoes of Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu, as well as numerous other islets. The total area of Taiwan proper and its outlying islands is around 36,197 square kilometers. At about the size of the Netherlands, but with a population of some 23 million, Taiwan is more populous than three-quarters of the world’s nations.

Reference : Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of China (Taiwan)